Our Board

Geoff Cranko

// Chair

Geoff has extensive commercial experience from small start-ups through to leading large multinational businesses. Working in a variety of sectors, including engineering, technology, medical, construction, and professional services, he has lived and worked across the world. He brings a diverse cultural and business perspective with a specific focus on holistic business strategy and marketing. With over 30 years of governance experience he provides clear thinking and offers straight talking advice. On a day to day basis Geoff is actively involved in Strategy, an international brand consultancy and NV Interactive, a national digital agency. He sits on several private company boards and has been actively involved in many Community Trusts and Clubs in Canterbury. He is a member of the Institute of Directors in both Australia and New Zealand. He is happily married to Andrea with two amazing daughters, Toni and Monique.

Mark Jordan

// Board Member

Mark Jordan is an Independent Director and Business Advisor. He has a marketing background, and fifteen years senior executive experience with large public and private companies, including HW Richardson, Pacific Brands, and BP. Not-for-profit governance experience was gained as Chairman of the Christchurch Boys’ High School Board of Trustees. A Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors, Mark has a commerce degree from Lincoln University.

Simon Carey

// Treasurer

Simon is an experienced Chartered Accountant and business adviser with demonstrated expertise across privately held businesses, government and public interest entities in New Zealand and a track record in strategic planning, analysis, project management and risk management. Simon’s specialities include: Sale and purchase of business, Valuations and litigation support, Strategic planning, Business turnaround and restructure, Financing proposals, Business succession and planning.

Nichola Hiatt

// Board Member

Nichola is an experienced legal and compliance professional. Nichola is the Legal Counsel at Jarden, a business that provides financial and investment services. Previously, Nichola practiced as a senior corporate commercial lawyer in Christchurch. Nichola holds a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Arts (English and Political Studies) from the University of Otago. Nichola is a member of the New Zealand Law Society and is admitted as a Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand.

Cameron Lacey

// Board Member

Cameron is the Clinical Director of Research for CDHB. He is also a Senior Lecturer at the Maori Indigenous Health Unit (MIHI) and Department of Psychological Medicine, University of Otago Christchurch. He has clinical and research experience working with Maori and whānau. His research includes Hauora Maori, psychological medicine, cardiovascular disease, neurology and medical education. Cameron is Principal Investigator on 3 Health Research Council (HRC) funded project investigating Maori and mental illness, and is a Named Investigator on three HRC funded projects nearing completion. He is also Principal Investigator of a HRC Canterbury Medical Research Foundation funded project. His PhD examined the psychiatric comorbidity of depression in epilepsy, investigating both psychiatric and genetic risk factors. His former roles include a Psychiatrist in old age psychiatry and the Medical Director for Westcoast District Health Board.

Professor Ian Wright

// Deputy Vice Chancellor, UC

Professor Ian Wright is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) at University of Canterbury since August 2016. He has extensive experience in research and technological leadership and management, having previously worked at the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research in Wellington, and eight years at the National Oceanography Centre / University of Southampton in the UK.

Ross Hutton

// Investment Advisor

Ross Hutton is an adviser with Craig's investment Partners. He has extensive experience in the finance industry, having been an investment adviser for 35 years. In his free time time, Ross is very active participating and watching sport. He also enjoys the Arts. Ross holds a Bachelor of Laws, Canterbury University, and is both an AFA and NZX adviser.

Professor David Murdoch

// Dean of University of Otago, Christchurch

Professor David Murdoch is Dean and Head of Campus of the University of Otago, Christchurch. An infectious diseases expert, David was previously Head of the School’s Department of Pathology for 14 years and has been a Clinical Microbiologist for the Canterbury District Health Board (CDHB) since 2000.

Sir Robert Stewart KNZM

// Patron

Sir Robert Stewart is the founder and chairman of SKOPE Industries. Based in Christchurch, SKOPE is one of New Zealand’s leading manufacturers, of leading-edge refrigeration units, and a successful exporter. Robert Stewart was a founder of the Christchurch private radio station Radio Avon and has also been heavily involved in car racing all his adult life. He is currently the chairman of the Health Research Council. His wife, Barbara, has been actively involved in Christchurch local body politics and in the city’s arts and culture life. They have three children, two of whom, Guy and Alexandra, are actively involved in the SKOPE business.

If you have any questions about the governance structure of CMRF or any of our executive committee, our team is ready to answer all your questions. Call us on 03 353 1240 or email [email protected].

Stay in touch with CMRF

// Get all the latest news and insights to your inbox